BCOM Student Have the Opportunity to Charter and join established student organizations. Many of these clubs are osteopathic in nature and focus on specific medical specialties, while other clubs focus on broader topics. These clubs are very active, and offer speakers, service projects, and outreach, while helping students to lean important lessons in a non-academic setting. See BCOM’s list of student organizations below:

ACOEP BCOM chapter is a group of students interested in the field of Emergency Medicine with views in line with the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians. The American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) promotes patient-centric, holistic emergency care consistent with the osteopathic philosophy, practiced by all emergency medicine professionals.

http://acoep.org/main/

Advisor: Dr. Oliver Hayes | ohayes@bcomnm.org

President: Bianca Shepherdson | bianca.shepherdson@mybcom.org

Familiarize and education osteopathic medical students about the Mission, Vision and Core Values of the ACOOG.

Provide and opportunity for fellowship among osteopathic medical students interested in osteopathic obstetrics and gynecology.

Educate osteopathic medical students of opportunities for post graduate education and research in the field of women’s health.

Foster communication between the ACOOG and locally sanctioned OB/GYN student interest groups at accredited COMs.

Advisor: Dr. Traci Groening | tgroening@bcomnm.org

President: Chau Nguyen Gonzalez | chau.nguyengonzale@mybcom.org

ACOP is an organization for students interested in pediatrics as a potential future specialty. BCOM ACOP is focused primarily on working with children in the community to promote health sciences.

www.acopeds.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Regina Im | regina.im@mybcomm.org

The American Medical Women’s Association is an organization which functions at the local, national, and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health. We achieve this by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, expertise, mentoring, and strategic alliances.

As a local chapter, our goal is to provide support and fellowship for members, as well as give back to our community through service.

http://www.amwa-doc.org/

Advisor: Dr. LeAnn Jons-Cox | ljons@bcomnm.org

President: Kailee Weiler | kailee.weiler@mybcom.org

Advisor: Miley Grandjean | mgrandjean@bcomnm.org

President: Kevin Posner | kevin.posner@mybcom.org

Advisor: Miley Grandjean | mgrandjean@bcomnm.org

President: Kevin Posner | kevin.posner@mybcom.org

Cardiology Association is a cardiology based group at BCOM focused on helping students become prospective candidates and being well informed on what it requires to become a cardiologist. We believe that through focused opportunities, students will be better candidates and help them determine if cardiology is the correct specialty for them.

Advisor: Dr. David Osborne | dosborne@bcomnm.org

President: Hanna Rahman | hanna.rahman@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Steven Ontiveros | sontiveros@bcomnm.org

President: Julianne Ankrom | julianne.ankrom@mybcom.org

Dermatology Club’s purpose here at BCOM where our main goal is to educate and provide resources about skin care, cancers, and diseases. We participate in health fairs and will be looking to provide dermatology related resources to those interested.

Advisor: Dr. Debra Bramblett | dbramblett@bcomnm.org

President: Amy Ngo | amy.ngo@mybcom.org

The mission of the American Academy of Family Physicians is to engage, foster, and support BCOM’s medical students and their interest in family medicine. The group will facilitate this mission in a variety of ways such as, community engagement, mentorship, and focused clinical experiences.

Advisor: Dr. Stefan Schaefer | sschaefer@bcomnm.org

President: William Spivey | william.spivey@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Kania | akania@bcomnmm.org

President: Savin Pillai | savin.pillai@mybcom.org

Health and Wellness Club exists to monitor and improve the physical and mental wellness of the student body at BCOM, providing the resources, activities, and experiences to promote students’ health.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1188104274610063

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Julienne Paraiso | julienne.paraiso@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Debra Bramblett | dbramblett@bcomnm.org

President: Jeffrey Bettencourt | jeffrey.bettencour@mybcom.org

To unite and empower medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community.

Advisor: Dr. Pedro Del Corral | pdelcorral@bcomnm.org

President: Sergio Navarro | sergio.navarro@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Robert Ketchum | rketchum@bcomnm.org

President: Andrew Tucker | andrew.tucker@mybcom.org

Advisor: Erin Palazzolo | epalazzolo@bcomnm.org

President: Virgina Stoddard-Merriam | virginia.stoddard@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Deborah Whitson | dwhitson@bcomnm.org

President: Felicia Mix | felicia.mix@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Joseph Benoit | jbenoit@bcomnm.org

President: Crystal Nguyen | crystal.nguyen@mybcom.org

Psych Cinema is an organization that strives to empower and educate medical students on the opportunities of the psychiatric specialty and the applicability of its principles in all medical practices. Furthermore, we strive for inter-professional collaboration to work towards a culture of destigmatizing mental illness.

Advisor: Norice Lee | nlee@bcomnm.org

President: Monika Jankowitz | monika.jankowicz@mybcom.org

Sigma Sigma Phi (SSP) is an honorary osteopathic service fraternity that aims to further the science of osteopathic medicine, improve scholastic standing and bring about a closer relationship and between the students and community.

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Matthew Steritz | matthew.steritz@mybcom.org

Provide mentorship and tutoring for local elementary students;
Aid in improving the medical student experience by providing community service opportunities;
Provide basic age appropriate health education for the elementary students;
Build relationships between BCOM and the community.

Advisor: Christa Vaudrey | cvaudrey@bcomnm.org

President: Nikola Fellows | nikola.fellows@mybcom.org

The Student American Academy of Osteopathy (SAAO) has been organized by students of the accredited American osteopathic medical colleges under the auspices and guidance of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) for the purposes of helping osteopathic medical students:

1. Acquire a better understanding of osteopathic principles, theories and practice to include:

  • Helping students attain a maximum proficiency in osteopathic structural diagnosis and treatment.
  • Fostering a clear concept of clinical application of osteopathy in health and disease.

2. Improve public awareness of osteopathic medicine so the community may better take advantage of the benefits provided by osteopathic medicine.

http://www.academyofosteopathy.org/students-landing

Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Kania | akania@bcomnm.org

President: Adriana Hall | adriana.hall@mybcom.org

Student National Medical Association (SNMA) is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Adedayo Balogun | adedayo.balogun@mybcom.org

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association’s (SOIMA) goals are to promote interest among osteopathic medical students in the practice of Internal Medicine and its subspecialties. We aim to educate and inform on the path towards becoming a Doctor of Internal Medicine and or subspecialties while allowing members to practice and learn applicable skills for future practice.

It is the purpose of the Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association (SOIMA) to represent aspiring osteopathic internists. This is accomplished through the following activities: 1) Providing osteopathic medical students with an early exposure to the field of internal medicine; 2) Stressing the understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties; 3) Affiliation with the American College of Osteopathic Internists as well as the American College of Physicians to establish and maintain the highest educational, moral and ethical standards in the teaching and practice of internal medicine. 4) Serving as a liaison with the AOA, the ACP, and the ACOI for the provision of information on training and career opportunities in internal medicine to osteopathic students. 5) Keeping members informed of the latest developments in the field of internal medicine.

Advisor: Dr. Muneer Assi | massi@bcomnm.org

President: Gina Gilderman | gina.gilderman@mybcom.org

SOMA strives to provide its members with an independent, cohesive voice and the power to effect

relevant change. BCOM SOMA is particularly concerned with supporting its student’s development as osteopathic physicians, and implementing policy that will improve healthcare in New Mexico.

www.studentdo.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Amy Ngo | amy.ngo@mybcom.org

BCOM SOSA’s purpose is to represent and educate the future osteopathic surgeon. SOSA stresses understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of surgery and provides a forum for discussion among students and surgeons.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Jordan Finn | jordan.finn@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Richard Selinfreund | rselinfreund@bcomnm.org

President: Danielle Niemann | danielle.niemann@mybcom.org

Special Programs

TOUCH Program