Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Have the Opportunity to Charter and join established student organizations. Many of these clubs are osteopathic in nature and focus on specific medical specialties, while other clubs focus on broader topics. These clubs are very active, and offer speakers, service projects, and outreach, while helping students to lean important lessons in a non-academic setting. See Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s list of student organizations below:

Advisor: Dr. John Cruickshank | jcruickshank@bcomnm.org

Journal Club Student Coordinator: Victoria-Lynn Ramos | victoria-lynn.ramos@mybcom.org

ACOEP Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine chapter is a group of students interested in the field of Emergency Medicine with views in line with the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians. The American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) promotes patient-centric, holistic emergency care consistent with the osteopathic philosophy, practiced by all emergency medicine professionals.

http://acoep.org/main/

Advisor: Dr. Oliver Hayes | ohayes@bcomnm.org

President: Kit Sitterley | kit.sitterley@mybcom.org

  • Familiarize and education osteopathic medical students about the Mission, Vision and Core Values of the ACOOG.
  • Provide and opportunity for fellowship among osteopathic medical students interested in osteopathic obstetrics and gynecology.
  • Educate osteopathic medical students of opportunities for post graduate education and research in the field of women’s health.
  • Foster communication between the ACOOG and locally sanctioned OB/GYN student interest groups at accredited COMs.

Advisor: Dr. Traci Groening | tgroening@bcomnm.org

President: Pooja Viswanath | pooja.viswanath@mybcom.org

ACOP is an organization for students interested in pediatrics as a potential future specialty. Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine ACOP is focused primarily on working with children in the community to promote health sciences.

www.acopeds.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Amanda Phan | amanda.phan@mybcom.org

The American Medical Women’s Association is an organization which functions at the local, national, and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health. We achieve this by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, expertise, mentoring, and strategic alliances.

As a local chapter, our goal is to provide support and fellowship for members, as well as give back to our community through service.

http://www.amwa-doc.org/

Advisor: Dr. Victoria Chang | vchang@bcomnm.org

President: Alondra Sierra | alondra.sierra@mybcom.org

To provide students of Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine with insight into anesthesia and perioperative medicine as career options through educational lectures, guest speakers, and clinical skills workshops

Advisor: Dr. Harald Stauss | hstauss@bcomnm.org

President: Miranda Martinez-Moad | miranda.martinez-m@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Julia Wong | julia.wong@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

Co-Founder:  Julia Wong | julia.wong@mybcom.org

Cardiology Association is a cardiology based group at Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine focused on helping students become prospective candidates and being well informed on what it requires to become a cardiologist. We believe that through focused opportunities, students will be better candidates and help them determine if cardiology is the correct specialty for them.

Advisor: Dr. David Osborne | dosborne@bcomnm.org

President: Karter Bodnovich | karter.bodnovich@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

Co-Student Leader: Juliana Young | juliana.young@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Steven Ontiveros | sontiveros@bcomnm.org

President: Alexandra Fraley | alexandra.fraley@mybcom.org

Dermatology Club’s purpose here at Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine where our main goal is to educate and provide resources about skin care, cancers, and diseases. We participate in health fairs and will be looking to provide dermatology related resources to those interested.

Advisor: Dr. Debra Bramblett | dbramblett@bcomnm.org

President: Darlene Diep | darlene.diep@mybcom.org

The mission of the American Academy of Family Physicians is to engage, foster, and support Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s medical students and their interest in family medicine. The group will facilitate this mission in a variety of ways such as, community engagement, mentorship, and focused clinical experiences.

Advisor: Dr. Karen Vaillant | kvaillant@bcomnm.org

President: Jonathan Kreger | jonathan.kreger@mybcom.org

The Financial Success Club will promote understanding of basic financial and business skills with an emphasis on giving student doctors the necessary knowledge for success in their personal and business finances.

Advisor: Dr. Anthony Levatino | alevatino@bcomnm.org

President: Colten Germaine | colten.germaine@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Michael Woods | mwoods@bcomnm.org

President: Ezechiel Fenelon | ezechiel.fenelon@mybcom.org

Health and Wellness Club exists to monitor and improve the physical and mental wellness of the student body at BCOM, providing the resources, activities, and experiences to promote students’ health.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1188104274610063

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Heather Jao | heather.jao@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Debra Bramblett | dbramblett@bcomnm.org

President: Jesus Gonzalez | jesus.gonzalez@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Thomas Spera | 

Founder: Matthew Steritz | matthew.steritz@mybcom.org

To unite and empower medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community.

Advisor: Dr. Pedro Del Corral | pdelcorral@bcomnm.org

President: Jorge Perdomo | jorge.perdomo@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Robert Ketchum | rketchum@bcomnm.org

President: Bradley Poindexter | bradley.poindexter@mybcom.org

Advisor: Erin Palazzolo | epalazzolo@bcomnm.org

President: Jessie Anderson | jessie.anderson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kristin Gosselink | kgosselink@bcomnm.org

Lead Contact: Brandon Deatherage | brandon.deatherage@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Joseph Benoit | jbenoit@bcomnm.org

President: Margaret Shmunes | margaret.shmunes@mybcom.org

Sigma Sigma Phi (SSP) is an honorary osteopathic service fraternity that aims to further the science of osteopathic medicine, improve scholastic standing and bring about a closer relationship and between the students and community.

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Valentine Gladstein | valentine.gladstei@mybcom.org

Advisor: Jennifer Snider | jsnider@bcomnm.org
Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Hansell Puentes | hansell.puentes@mybcom.org

Provide mentorship and tutoring for local elementary students;
Aid in improving the medical student experience by providing community service opportunities;
Provide basic age appropriate health education for the elementary students;
Build relationships between BCOM and the community.

Advisor: Christa Vaudrey | cvaudrey@bcomnm.org

President: Brooke Ortiz | brooke.ortiz@mybcom.org

Advisor: Student Affairs | studentaffairs@bcomnm.org

President: Nikki Quast | nikkimquast@gmail.com

The Student American Academy of Osteopathy (SAAO) has been organized by students of the accredited American osteopathic medical colleges under the auspices and guidance of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) for the purposes of helping osteopathic medical students:

1. Acquire a better understanding of osteopathic principles, theories and practice to include:

  • Helping students attain a maximum proficiency in osteopathic structural diagnosis and treatment.
  • Fostering a clear concept of clinical application of osteopathy in health and disease.

2. Improve public awareness of osteopathic medicine so the community may better take advantage of the benefits provided by osteopathic medicine.

http://www.academyofosteopathy.org/students-landing

Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Kania | akania@bcomnm.org

President: Juliana Young | juliana.young@mybcom.org

SAMOPS Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine chapter is a group for students interested in military medicine that seeks to provide osteopathic education, mentorship, and advocacy to the United States Uniformed Services.

Advisor: Stephanie Trujillo | strujillo@bcomnm.org

President: Caitlin Cooley | caitlin.cooley@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

Executive Board President: Josiel Garcia | josiel.garcia@mybcom.org

Student National Medical Association (SNMA) is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Sidra Ali | sidra.ali@mybcom.org

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association’s (SOIMA) goals are to promote interest among osteopathic medical students in the practice of Internal Medicine and its subspecialties. We aim to educate and inform on the path towards becoming a Doctor of Internal Medicine and or subspecialties while allowing members to practice and learn applicable skills for future practice.

It is the purpose of the Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association (SOIMA) to represent aspiring osteopathic internists. This is accomplished through the following activities: 1) Providing osteopathic medical students with an early exposure to the field of internal medicine; 2) Stressing the understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties; 3) Affiliation with the American College of Osteopathic Internists as well as the American College of Physicians to establish and maintain the highest educational, moral and ethical standards in the teaching and practice of internal medicine. 4) Serving as a liaison with the AOA, the ACP, and the ACOI for the provision of information on training and career opportunities in internal medicine to osteopathic students. 5) Keeping members informed of the latest developments in the field of internal medicine.

Advisor: Dr. Muneer Assi | massi@bcomnm.org

President: Boris Yushuvayev | boris.yushuvayev@mybcom.org

SOMA strives to provide its members with an independent, cohesive voice and the power to effect

relevant change. BCOM SOMA is particularly concerned with supporting its student’s development as osteopathic physicians, and implementing policy that will improve healthcare in New Mexico.

www.studentdo.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Derek Jezulin | derek.jezulin@mybcom.org

Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine SOSA’s purpose is to represent and educate the future osteopathic surgeon. SOSA stresses understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of surgery and provides a forum for discussion among students and surgeons.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Luis Zuniga | luis.zuniga@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Cindy Funk | cfunk@bcomnm.org

President: Briana Chavez | briana.chavez@mybcom.org

USIG is a registered, chartered organization at BCOM that explores the utility of point-of-care ultrasound, a tool that is useful regardless of the specialty you are pursuing! We are currently in the works of partnering with national affiliates as well as exploring research avenues to publish, all while furthering our understanding of how ultrasound can benefit your scope as future provider.

Advisor: Kristopher Vaudrey | kvaudrey@bcomnm.org
Advisor: Miriam Donohue | mdonohue@bcomnm.org

President: Tushank Chadha | tushank.chadha@mybcom.org

White Coat for Black Lives focuses on safeguarding the lives and well-being of our patients through the elimination of racism. The mission of the organization is to dismantle racism in medicine and promote the health, well being, and self-determination of people of color.

Advisor: Dr. Kristen Gosselink | kgosselink@bcomnm.org

President: Chinanu Chidi | Chinanu.chidi@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Richard Selinfreund | rselinfreund@bcomnm.org

President: Valentine Gladstein | valentine.gladstei@mybcom.org

Special Programs

TOUCH Program