Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Have the Opportunity to Charter and join established student organizations. Many of these clubs are osteopathic in nature and focus on specific medical specialties, while other clubs focus on broader topics. These clubs are very active, and offer speakers, service projects, and outreach, while helping students to lean important lessons in a non-academic setting. See Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s list of student organizations below:

ACOEP Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine chapter is a group of students interested in the field of Emergency Medicine with views in line with the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians. The American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) promotes patient-centric, holistic emergency care consistent with the osteopathic philosophy, practiced by all emergency medicine professionals.

http://acoep.org/main/

Advisor: Dr. Oliver Hayes | ohayes@bcomnm.org

President: Valeria Nunez Martinez | valeria.nunezmarti@mybcom.org

  • Familiarize and education osteopathic medical students about the Mission, Vision and Core Values of the ACOOG.
  • Provide and opportunity for fellowship among osteopathic medical students interested in osteopathic obstetrics and gynecology.
  • Educate osteopathic medical students of opportunities for post graduate education and research in the field of women’s health.
  • Foster communication between the ACOOG and locally sanctioned OB/GYN student interest groups at accredited COMs.

Advisor: Dr. Traci Groening | tgroening@bcomnm.org

President: Janika Petersburg | janika.sweeney@mybcom.org

ACOP is an organization for students interested in pediatrics as a potential future specialty. Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine ACOP is focused primarily on working with children in the community to promote health sciences.

www.acopeds.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Erika Anaya | erika.anaya@burrell.edu

Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s American College of Osteopathic Surgeons’ purpose is to represent and educate the future osteopathic surgeon. ACOS-MSS stresses understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of surgery and provides a forum for discussion among students and surgeons.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Cristina Lee | cristina.lee@mybcom.org

The American Medical Women’s Association is an organization which functions at the local, national, and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health. We achieve this by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, expertise, mentoring, and strategic alliances.

As a local chapter, our goal is to provide support and fellowship for members, as well as give back to our community through service.

http://www.amwa-doc.org/

Advisor: Dr. Victoria Chang | vchang@bcomnm.org

President: Rylee Samander | rylee.samander@mybcom.org

The national chapter of sports medicine at Burrell is focused on advancing a mutually respectful relationship among dedicated sports medicine specialists, and to educate AOASM members, allied health sports medicine professionals, and the public.

Advisor: Kris Vaudrey | kvaudrey@burrell.edu and Dr. Miriam Donohue | mdonohue@burrell.edu

President: Natasha Harris | natasha.harris@mybcom.org

The American Society of Clinical Oncology Student Group at Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine is committed to spreading awareness, knowledge, and passion for the study and practice of Oncology. The organization accomplishes its mission through research, seminars, and community events.

Advisor: Dr. Sheeba Tano | stano@bcomnm.org

President: Anissa Johnson | anissa.johnson@burrell.edu

Animal Helpers is an organization that works with local shelters, like Animal Service Center of the Mesilla Valley, to bring awareness and opportunities for students to help the shelters find permanent, loving homes for its current furry residents. We would also like to help the school coordinate Pet Therapy Days, so that students can take a break from their schedules and focus on their mental health.

Advisor: Dr. Erin Palazzolo | epalazzolo@burrell.edu

President: Emily Barr | emily.barr@burrell.edu & Tina Wong | tina.wong@burrell.edu

This organization unites Asian American medical students and people interested in helping the APIA community face in healthcare. Additionally, this club provides a space where minority students can share their experience or struggles they may have face/d to become a medical student and as a medical student. This organization is a way for students of similar backgrounds to connect and uplift each other.

Advisor: Dr. Victoria Chang | vchang@bcomnm.org

President: John Betts | john.betts@mybcom.org

To provide students of Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine with insight into anesthesia and perioperative medicine as career options through educational lectures, guest speakers, and clinical skills workshops

Advisor: Dr. Harald Stauss | hstauss@bcomnm.org

President: Rita Derderian | rita.derderian@mybcom.org

Our goal is to expose students to more practice with biochemistry related content. On a monthly/bi-monthly basis we practice biochemistry questions related to the medical curriculum in a team based learning style and facilitate discussion among students about important concepts in biochemistry.

Advisor: Dr. Vanessa De La Rosa | vdelarosa@burrell.edu

Co-Presidents: Chantal Riba | chantal.riba@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Hannah Singleton | hannah.singleton@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Nina Kar | nina.kar@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Steven Ontiveros | sontiveros@bcomnm.org

President: Jennifer Tran | jennifer.tran@mybcom.org

Dermatology Club’s purpose here at Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine where our main goal is to educate and provide resources about skin care, cancers, and diseases. We participate in health fairs and will be looking to provide dermatology related resources to those interested.

Advisor: Dr. Debra Bramblett | dbramblett@bcomnm.org

President: Ilana Pyatetsky | ilana.pyatetsky@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Karen Vaillant | kvaillant@bcomnm.org

President: Kailee Weiler | kailee.weiler@mybcom.org

Our groups goals are to provide guidance and mentorship to local high school students so they can succeed in undergraduate studies and medical school. Another goal of our group is to broaden students interests and knowledge via medical and scientific workshops. We also aim to provide medical and healthcare related volunteer opportunities to students.

Advisor: Dr. Karen Vaillant | kvaillant@bcomnm.org

President/Leader: Yunus Tekin | yunus.tekin@burrell.edu

The mission of the American Academy of Family Physicians is to engage, foster, and support Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s medical students and their interest in family medicine. The group will facilitate this mission in a variety of ways such as, community engagement, mentorship, and focused clinical experiences.

Advisor: Dr. Karen Vaillant | kvaillant@bcomnm.org

President: Logan Harris | logan.harris@mybcom.org

The Financial Success Club will promote understanding of basic financial and business skills with an emphasis on giving student doctors the necessary knowledge for success in their personal and business finances.

Advisor: Dr. Anthony Levatino | alevatino@bcomnm.org

President: Reed Lampert | reed.lampert@mybcom.org

Gifted Hands is a club dedicated to serving the families and individuals with intellectual, physical, and developmental disabilities in Las Cruces and the surrounding area. We aim to interact with and learn more about the special needs community while educating future physicians on how to care for and treat individuals with special needs.

Advisor: Dr. Cindy Funk | cfunk@burrell.edu

President: Chloe Myers | chloe.myers@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Michael Woods | mwoods@bcomnm.org

President: Noor Fatima | noor.fatima@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@burrell.edu

President: Abraham Kisule | abraham.kisule@burrell.edu

Health and Wellness Club exists to monitor and improve the physical and mental wellness of the student body at BCOM, providing the resources, activities, and experiences to promote students’ health.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1188104274610063

Advisor: Brett Newcomer | bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

President: Breanna Caywood | breanna.caywood@burrell.edu

To unite and empower medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community.

Advisor: Dr. Pedro Del Corral | pdelcorral@bcomnm.org

President: Mery Yanez | mery.yanez@mybcom.org

Advisor: Erin Palazzolo | epalazzolo@bcomnm.org

President: Kaylee Knaggs | kaylee.knaggs@burrell.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kristin Gosselink | kgosselink@bcomnm.org

Coleader Contact: Han Lu | han.lu@mybcom.org

Coleader Contact: Kathryn Wehrer | kathryn.wehrer@burrell.edu

Advisor: Dr. Joseph Benoit | jbenoit@bcomnm.org

President: Rachel Culver | rachel.culver@mybcom.org

The Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Club (PM&R) at Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine is charged with educating future physicians on pathways to restore and improve functional ability and quality of life for patients with disabilities or physical impairments. In efforts to holistically develop our members, we take part in community service, clinical opportunities, and mentorship.

Advisor: Miley Grandjean | mgrandjean@burrell.edu

President: Ryan Keller | ryan.keller@burrell.edu

Burrell PsychSIGN is affiliated with the national organization of the Psychiatry Student Interest Group Network or PsychSIGN within the American Psychiatric Association (APA). PsychSIGN is a psychiatry interest group which intends to encourage student interest in the field of psychiatry, foster networking between students with an interest in psychiatric medicine and allow a platform with which to exchange information concerning planning a career in the psychiatric field. The club aims to foster connections between students and psychiatry faculty while also working to eradicate the negative stigma associated with mental illness. PsychSIGN seeks to promote the importance of mental health among students and future medical professionals as well as provide students with leadership and community outreach opportunities.

Advisor: Dr. Kristin Gosselink | kgosselink@burrell.edu

President: Jessica Hoeschele | jessica.hoeschele@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Miriam Donohue | mdonohue@burrell.edu

President: John Betts | john.betts@burrell.edu

Sigma Sigma Phi (SSP) is an honorary osteopathic service fraternity that aims to further the science of osteopathic medicine, improve scholastic standing and bring about a closer relationship and between the students and community.

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Kevin Watson | kevin.watson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Shannon Chan | shannon.chan@mybcom.org

Provide mentorship and tutoring for local elementary students;
Aid in improving the medical student experience by providing community service opportunities;
Provide basic age appropriate health education for the elementary students;
Build relationships between BCOM and the community.

Advisor: Christa Vaudrey | cvaudrey@bcomnm.org

President: Teena Antony | teena.antony@burrell.edu

Advisor: Student Affairs | studentaffairs@bcomnm.org

President: Emily Kenny

The Student American Academy of Osteopathy (SAAO) has been organized by students of the accredited American osteopathic medical colleges under the auspices and guidance of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) for the purposes of helping osteopathic medical students:

1. Acquire a better understanding of osteopathic principles, theories and practice to include:

  • Helping students attain a maximum proficiency in osteopathic structural diagnosis and treatment.
  • Fostering a clear concept of clinical application of osteopathy in health and disease.

2. Improve public awareness of osteopathic medicine so the community may better take advantage of the benefits provided by osteopathic medicine.

http://www.academyofosteopathy.org/students-landing

Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Kania | akania@bcomnm.org

President: Alexis Frezza | alexis.frezza@mybcom.org

SAMOPS Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine chapter is a group for students interested in military medicine that seeks to provide osteopathic education, mentorship, and advocacy to the United States Uniformed Services.

Advisor: Stephanie Trujillo | strujillo@bcomnm.org

President: Annika Stanley | annika.stanley@burrell.edu

Student National Medical Association (SNMA) is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians.

Advisor: Dr. Adela Lente | alente@bcomnm.org

President: Kevin Harris | kevin.harris@burrell.edu

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association’s (SOIMA) goals are to promote interest among osteopathic medical students in the practice of Internal Medicine and its subspecialties. We aim to educate and inform on the path towards becoming a Doctor of Internal Medicine and or subspecialties while allowing members to practice and learn applicable skills for future practice.

It is the purpose of the Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association (SOIMA) to represent aspiring osteopathic internists. This is accomplished through the following activities: 1) Providing osteopathic medical students with an early exposure to the field of internal medicine; 2) Stressing the understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties; 3) Affiliation with the American College of Osteopathic Internists as well as the American College of Physicians to establish and maintain the highest educational, moral and ethical standards in the teaching and practice of internal medicine. 4) Serving as a liaison with the AOA, the ACP, and the ACOI for the provision of information on training and career opportunities in internal medicine to osteopathic students. 5) Keeping members informed of the latest developments in the field of internal medicine.

Advisor: Dr. Muneer Assi | massi@bcomnm.org

President: Kimberly Yos | kimberly.yos@mybcom.org

SOMA strives to provide its members with an independent, cohesive voice and the power to effect

relevant change. BCOM SOMA is particularly concerned with supporting its student’s development as osteopathic physicians, and implementing policy that will improve healthcare in New Mexico.

www.studentdo.org

Advisor: Dr. Scott Cyrus | scyrus@bcomn.org

President: Hannah Singleton | hannah.singleton@mybcom.org

Advisor: Miley Grandjean | mgrandjean@burrell.edu

President: Analekha Chesnick | nalekha.chesnick@burrell.edu

USIG is a registered, chartered organization at BCOM that explores the utility of point-of-care ultrasound, a tool that is useful regardless of the specialty you are pursuing! We are currently in the works of partnering with national affiliates as well as exploring research avenues to publish, all while furthering our understanding of how ultrasound can benefit your scope as future provider.

Advisor: Kristopher Vaudrey | kvaudrey@bcomnm.org

President: Sara Alsouqi | sara.alsouqi@mybcom.org

White Coat for Black Lives focuses on safeguarding the lives and well-being of our patients through the elimination of racism. The mission of the organization is to dismantle racism in medicine and promote the health, well being, and self-determination of people of color.

Advisor: Dr. Kristin Gosselink | kgosselink@bcomnm.org

President: Destiny Newsome | destiny.newsome@mybcom.org

Special Programs

TOUCH Program