BCOM Student Have the Opportunity to Charter and join established student organizations. Many of these clubs are osteopathic in nature and focus on specific medical specialties, while other clubs focus on broader topics. These clubs are very active, and offer speakers, service projects, and outreach, while helping students to lean important lessons in a non-academic setting. See BCOM’s list of student organizations below:

The BCOM Student Government Association (SGA) is the official voice for osteopathic medical students at BCOM. BCOM SGA is responsible for dispersing funds for student activities, acting as a liaison for the DO medical student body, promoting osteopathic medicine, supporting club and classroom activities, and working to improve the quality of life for all BCOM medical students. http://www.bcomsga.org/

President: Alexander Lam alexander.lam@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer, Director of Student Affairs bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

The Foundations in Biomedical Sciences Student Government Association (FBMS SGA) is the official voice for Foundations in Biomedical Sciences Students at BCOM. FBMS SGA works closely with BCOM SGA to promote osteopathic medicine, support club and classroom activities, and works to improve the quality of life for Foundations in Biomedical Sciences BCOM students.

President: Victory-Lynn Ramos Victoria-lynn.ramos@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Minugh-Purvis nminugh@bcomnm.org

Anesthesia Interest Group’s purpose is to develop an understanding of the practice of anesthesiology and explore the field as an area of interest.

President: Cory Albrechtsen cory.albrechtsen@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Mychaskiw, Founding Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine gmychaskiw@bcomnm.org

The Geriatrics Society’s purpose is to promote improved independence, quality of care and life for Older Adults by fostering a cognizant generation of geriatricians.

President: Tammy Nguyen tammy-tam.nguyen@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kania akania@bcomnm.org

Sin Limites’ purpose is to provide tutoring and positive relationships for elementary children in Las Cruces.

President: Zachariah Taylor Zachariah.taylor@mybcomm.org

Advisor: Dr. Morehead mmorehead@bcomnm.org

SOMA strives to provide its members with an independent, cohesive voice and the power to effect

relevant change. BCOM SOMA is particularly concerned with supporting its student’s development as osteopathic physicians, and implementing policy that will improve healthcare in New Mexico.

www.studentdo.org

President: John Rajala john.rajala@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Howell showell@bcomnm.org

Psych Cinema’s purpose is to discuss mental health issues present in various films.

President: Jennifer Burkett Jennifer.burkett@mybcom.org

ACOP is an organization for students interested in pediatrics as a potential future specialty. BCOM ACOP is focused primarily on working with children in the community to promote health sciences.

www.acopeds.org

President: Roxanne Waggoner Roxanne.waggoner@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Cyrus scyrus@bcomnm.org

The Internal Medicine & Cardiology Club’s purpose is to keep up with and practice clinical skills relevant to the fields of Internal Medicine and Cardiology and to gain insight on future residencies, fellowships, and research opportunities.

President: Fernando Magana Fernando.magana@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Assi massi@bcomnm.org

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Integrative Medicine Student Organization (IMSO) is an organization that explores integrative medicine approaches that may be used in conjunction with traditional medicine. Members of IMSO will learn from health care personnel who practice integrative medicine how to treat and prevent disease in their future patients. Integrative medicine acknowledges the whole person: mind, body, spirit, and lifestyle when determining a plan of care that best fits the needs of each individual patient.

President: Samuel Richardson Samuel.richardson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kurz akurz@bcomnm.org

The American Medical Women’s Association’s mission is to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, and mentorship. AMWA’s vision is to empower women to lead in improving health for all within a model that reflects the unique perspective of women.

President: Joya Singh joya.singh@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Jons-Cox ljons@bcomnm.org

President: Sara Javadi sara.javadi@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Levatino alevatino@bcomnm.org

President: Guy Charest guy.charest@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Bramblett dbramblett@bcomnm.org