PY Foundation’s Yates Scholarships are made possible thanks to a $1.6 million gift to the Coalition for Osteopathic Excellence (COE).

The PY Foundation passionately supports the mission and vision of Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine and COE to establish more doctors in New Mexico and the surrounding Southwest region of the U.S. Their generous gift will encourage Burrell’s aspiring physicians to invest in the health and future of New Mexico.

All students who are awarded scholarships must agree to complete a clinical rotation — hands-on medical training — at Burrell’s Eastern New Mexico Regional Academic Center, which includes the cities of Artesia, Carlsbad, Hobbs, Lovington, and Roswell. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, each of these cities is located in counties that are critically low on health professionals. In addition, medical students who receive scholarships will commit to return to practice medicine in New Mexico after their residency training (specifically in Artesia, NM; Eddy County, NM; Chavez County, NM; Lea County, NM; or Las Cruces, NM if a career opportunity is available).


Name of Scholarship Yates Scholarships
Award per Student per Semester Limit Partial or full scholarship determined by President/Dean/COE Executive Director
Eligibility Criteria Must be a 3rd or 4th year student


Students must commit to complete a clinical rotation at the Eastern New Mexico Regional Academic Center

Additional Award Considerations If the student is eligible for BEAR admission, demonstrates financial need, or disadvantaged circumstances


The student has demonstrated merit and can demonstrate a compelling desire to give back to the community and practice in the target NM region

Required Submissions  

Student Commitment Form


If you have any questions regarding the Yates Scholarship Fund please e-mail them to financialaid@burrell.edu