Off-Boarding for Graduates

As of 2PM on May 8th, 2020, the ownership of the school provided Surface Book has been transferred to you. Because it is no longer owned by the school, the licensing of your software has been or will be changed. This document will give you instructions on how to deal with these changes by uninstalling what does not work or what you do not want/need any more. If anything is missing from this document or you require further support, please submit a ticket here.

NOTE: Your Microsoft Office 365 subscription (Word, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneDrive, etc) will be good until December 31st to allow you the time to work on any files, clear out your OneDrive, and save any emails you want to keep.

All programs that have expiring credentials are listed in “To Uninstall Programs”

There are two main ways to remove the school provided software: You can reimage your computer completely or you can uninstall programs one at a time to get rid of what will not work, or you do not want.

You must also disconnect your computer from the ad.bcomnm.org network domain. If you do not, this could result in the loss of data and even the inability to log into your computer.

This process will restore the computer to factory settings and remove all programs added to the computer. However, it will keep all Windows updates and your personal files.

NOTE: This process will only keep personal files, all programs will be removed, please consider the programs you use before beginning.

If you would like to keep some of the programs, please go to the section below labeled “To Uninstall Programs”.

  1. Plug your charger into your computer.
  2. Click on the Start Menu and then click on the gear on the left side (Settings) or right click on the Start Menu button and select Settings.
  3. In the Windows Settings window, click on Update & Security.
  4. On the left side, click on Recovery.
  5. Under Reset this PC, click on Get Started.
  6. In the popup window, click on Keep my files (unless you want to delete your account).
  7. Click Next.
  8. The window will say Ready to reset this PC. This is your last chance to cancel this operation. You may click on List of apps to be removed to make sure you are not wiping out any program you may want to keep. Once you are ready, click Reset.
  9. Now, you wait. It will take a bit of time (up to 30 minutes) but once it is done, besides your account, your computer will be reset to factory settings. When you log in, there should be a file on your desktop called Removed Apps to see exactly what has been removed from your computer.

When uninstalling programs, be careful to NOT uninstall programs which you do not know. They may be vital for Windows to run properly.

  1. Click on the Start Menu and then click on the gear on the left side (Settings) or right click on the Start Menu button and select Settings.
  2. In the Windows Settings window, click on Apps.
  3. Click on a program you do not want on your computer anymore (or that doesn’t work anymore).
  4. It should expand the selection to include a button labeled Uninstall. Click on Uninstall.
  5. A small window should appear that includes an Uninstall button. Click on Uninstall.
  6. Your computer may bring up a window asking, Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device? Click Yes.
  7. Continue through the prompts the program gives you until it uninstalls itself. Reboot your computer if the uninstaller requests it.

There are many different prompts which may come up depending on the app’s uninstall program. They are usually straightforward as to what you need to do to uninstall. It usually consists of clicking Uninstall and perhaps some questions or the need to hit Next several times. This document does NOT cover each uninstaller for every program.

Here is a list of all the programs which may reside on your computer which were installed by us and are safe to uninstall. Do not worry if any of the programs in the list are not on your computer.

Because of the size and number of Adobe products which may reside on your computer, an uninstaller has been provided below. This program will uninstall all Adobe programs except for Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Creative Cloud, and Adobe Digital Editions. These three exceptions will have to be uninstalled manually. Acrobat, Creative Cloud, and Digital Editions will have to be uninstalled manually. If you do not have all the Adobe programs in the list, the uninstaller will still take care of the programs you do have.

Adobe Uninstaller

The programs which we installed changed as we learned what you needed so you may not have every program on the following list. However, the bolded program names in the list have licenses provided by the school and will no longer work properly after the given date:

  • Adobe Acrobat DC (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe After Effects (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Bridge (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Creative Cloud (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Digital Editions
  • Adobe Illustrator (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe InDesign (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Lightroom (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Photoshop (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe Premiere Pro (July 30th 2020)
  • Adobe SpeedGrade (July 30th 2020)
  • Aliza
  • Anki
  • AirMedia
  • Canon Office Printer Utility
  • Crestron AirMedia
  • Examplify
  • Google Chrome
  • Microsoft Office (December 31st 2020)
  • Microsoft Teams (December 31st 2020)
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Panopto
  • SofTest 12.0
  • SofTest v11
  • VitalSource Bookshelf
  • Vue
  • Webroot SecureAnywhere
  1. Click on the link provided above and if necessary, sign in using your Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine credentials.
  2. Click on Download link at the top of the window.
  3. After the file downloads, go to the folder where the file was downloaded (probably the Downloads folder), right click the file, and click Extract All… and then the Extract button. This should create a folder called AdobeUninstallAll.
  4. Open the AdobeUninstallAll folder, then the folder inside called AdobeUninstallAll.
  5. Right click the file named AdobeCCUninstaller and select Run as administrator. If a window appears asking, Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?, click Yes.
  6. A black window with white text should appear. Once it closes itself, it’s done

To minimize the possibility of losing data, please complete the following procedure: Migrating User Profile