Pre-Clinical Education (Year 1 & Year 2)

PRE-CLINICAL EDUCATION

BCOM’s instructional design utilizes active learning techniques through case discussions, teambased learning, laboratory and skills instruction, and interactive integrative sessions. Individual student preparation is essential and promotes responsibility, intellectual curiosity and stimulates critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Students are engaged through simulated clinical
experiences, small group sessions and directed study. Evaluations of student performance are based on written exams, competency-based assessments, observational techniques and structured clinical examinations.

Year One

OMS I
The systems-based courses required in the first year emphasize basic biomedical science, with clinical correlates. Coursework in osteopathic manipulative techniques, clinical medicine skills, medical informatics, and ethics are presented concomitantly.

Year Two

OMS II
The systems-based courses in the second curricular emphasize the pathophysiologic and pharmacologic aspects of the biomedical sciences, and provide a foundational education in clinical medicine and disease. At the end of Year Two, students are required to successfully complete the COMLEX-USA® Level 1 national board examination.

 

Robert Ketchum, PhD
Associate Dean of Pre-Clinical Education & Professor of Anatomy
Phone: 575-674-2302
Email: rketchum@bcomnm.org

 

Cindy Funk, PhD
Assistant Dean of Student Assessment & Professor of Anatomy
Phone: 575-674-2343
Email: cfunk@bcomnm.org

Biography

 

David Osborne, PhD
Assistant Dean of Pre-Clinical Education & Professor of Physiology
Phone: 575-674-2310
Email: dosborne@bcomnm.org

 

Karina Garcia-Melchor
Curriculum Coordinator
Phone: 575-674-2365
Email: kmelchor@bcomnm.org

 

April Lujan
Curriculum Coordinator
Phone: 575-674-2360
Email: alujan@bcomnm.org

 

Carol Perry
Testing Center Manager
Phone: 575-674-2306
Email: cperry@bcomnm.org

 

Lahri Singh
Testing Center Coordinator
Phone: 575-674-2367
Email: lsingh@bcomnm.org

 

Patricia Howlett
Administrative Assistant II
Phone: 575-674-2369
Email: phowlett@bcomnm.org

 

Caballero, Stephanie
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 575-674-2381
Email: scaballero@bcomnm.org