BCOM Student Have the Opportunity to Charter and join established student organizations. Many of these clubs are osteopathic in nature and focus on specific medical specialties, while other clubs focus on broader topics. These clubs are very active, and offer speakers, service projects, and outreach, while helping students to lean important lessons in a non-academic setting. See BCOM’s list of student organizations below:

ACOEP BCOM chapter is a group of students interested in the field of Emergency Medicine with views in line with the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians. The American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) promotes patient-centric, holistic emergency care consistent with the osteopathic philosophy, practiced by all emergency medicine professionals.

http://acoep.org/main/

President: Eli Johnson eli.johnson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Hayes ohayes@bcomnm.org

Vice President: William Lay william.lay@mybcom.org

Secretary: Terra Spanuzzi terra.spanuzzi@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Joel Ross joel.ross@mybcom.org

Wilderness Medicine: Cameron Grossaint cameron.grossaint@mybcom.org

Editor-in-Chief: Weston Kloster weston.kloster@mybcom.org

Clinical Outreach: Benny Rossner benny.rossner@mybcom.org

To learn ore about these individual roles, click here.

Familiarize and education osteopathic medical students about the Mission, Vision and Core Values of the ACOOG.

Provide and opportunity for fellowship among osteopathic medical students interested in osteopathic obstetrics and gynecology.

Educate osteopathic medical students of opportunities for post graduate education and research in the field of women’s health.

Foster communication between the ACOOG and locally sanctioned OB/GYN student interest groups at accredited COMs.

President: Amanda Jackson amanda.jackson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Groening tgroening@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Julie Obregon julie.obregon@mybcom.org

Secretary: Crystal Nguyen crystal.nguyen@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Chau Nguyen Gonzalez chau.nguyengonzale@mybcom.org

ACOP is an organization for students interested in pediatrics as a potential future specialty. BCOM ACOP is focused primarily on working with children in the community to promote health sciences.

www.acopeds.org

President: Roxanne Waggoner roxanne.waggoner@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Cyrus scyrus@bcomnm.org

The American Medical Women’s Association is an organization which functions at the local, national, and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health. We achieve this by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, expertise, mentoring, and strategic alliances.

As a local chapter, our goal is to provide support and fellowship for members, as well as give back to our community through service.

http://www.amwa-doc.org/

President: Larin McMartin larin.mcmartin@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Jons-Cox ljons@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Alexzandra Blanchard alexzandra.blanchard@mybcom.org

Recruitment Chair: Elaine Murad elaine.murad@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Katlyn Jones katlyn.jones@mybcom.org

Secretary: Melissa Sayegh melissa.sayegh@mybcom.org

This organization is for students with radiology interest. It will help you learn more about this incredible field and its sub-specialties.

President: Oussama Abbad Oussama.abbad@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Cindy Funk cfunk@bcomnm.org

Anesthesia Interest Group’s purpose is to develop an understanding of the practice of anesthesiology and explore the field as an area of interest.

President: Cory Albrechtsen cory.albrechtsen@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Mychaskiw, Founding Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine gmychaskiw@bcomnm.org

President: Sam Richardson samuel.richardson@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Darrow rdarrow@bcomnm.org

Contact: Bryan Margaria bryan.margaria@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

The purpose of BCOM Sports Medicine is to provide the education and the application of sports medicine to the osteopathic medical student and other allied health students. To contribute to the development of the field of sports medicine at BCOM through activities involving the faculty and student associates. To promote health, fitness, education and safety in the community.

http://www.aoasm.org/students/

Contact: Delayna Garcia delayna.garcia@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. LaBoy flaboy@bcomnm.org

Cardiology Association is a cardiology based group at BCOM focused on helping students become prospective candidates and being well informed on what it requires to become a cardiologist. We believe that through focused opportunities, students will be better candidates and help them determine if cardiology is the correct specialty for them.

President: Sulayman Mughal sulayman.mughal@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Osborne dosborne@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Mahum Sami mahum.sami@mybcom.org

Secretary: Amy Ngo amy.ngo@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Brooke Brown brooke.brown@mybcom.org

Public Relations: Hiral Amin hiral.amin@mybcom.org and Sidra Shah sidra.shah@mybcom.org

Professional Development: Sharjeel Hassan sharjeel.hassan@mybcom.org

President: Steve Berruecos steve.berruecos@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Ontiveros sontiveros@bcomnm.org

Dermatology Club’s purpose here at BCOM where our main goal is to educate and provide resources about skin care, cancers, and diseases. We participate in health fairs and will be looking to provide dermatology related resources to those interested.

President: Ayeza Jamil ayeza.jamil@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Bramblett dbramblett@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Walid Moughabel walid.moughabel@mybcom.org

Secretary: Sasha Anireddy sasha.anireddy@mybcom.org

The mission of the American Academy of Family Physicians is to engage, foster, and support BCOM’s medical students and their interest in family medicine. The group will facilitate this mission in a variety of ways such as, community engagement, mentorship, and focused clinical experiences.

President: Brenda Pelayo brenda.pelayo@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Stefan Schaefer sschaefer@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Souleiman Salameh souleiman.salameh@mybcom.org

Director of Community Outreach: Bianka Martinez bianka.martinez@mybcom.org

Secretary: Amr Nasef amr.nasef@mybcom.org

The Foundations in Biomedical Sciences Student Government Association (FBMS SGA) is the official voice for Foundations in Biomedical Sciences Students at BCOM. FBMS SGA works closely with BCOM SGA to promote osteopathic medicine, support club and classroom activities, and works to improve the quality of life for Foundations in Biomedical Sciences BCOM students.

President: Victory-Lynn Ramos Victoria-lynn.ramos@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Minugh-Purvis nminugh@bcomnm.org

The Geriatrics Society’s purpose is to promote improved independence, quality of care and life for Older Adults by fostering a cognizant generation of geriatricians.

President: Tammy Nguyen tammy-tam.nguyen@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kania akania@bcomnm.org

Health and Wellness Club exists to monitor and improve the physical and mental wellness of the student body at BCOM, providing the resources, activities, and experiences to promote students’ health.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1188104274610063

President: Ryan Reinken ryan.reinken@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Joe Moss joe.moss@mybcom.org

Secretary: Melody Nameni melody.nameni@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Sarven Tersakyan sarven.tersakyan@mybcom.org

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Integrative Medicine Student Organization (IMSO) is an organization that explores integrative medicine approaches that may be used in conjunction with traditional medicine. Members of IMSO will learn from health care personnel who practice integrative medicine how to treat and prevent disease in their future patients. Integrative medicine acknowledges the whole person: mind, body, spirit, and lifestyle when determining a plan of care that best fits the needs of each individual patient.

To explore, understand, and educate each other about Integrative medicine and its approach to care, addressing physical, emotional, mental, social, spiritual and environmental influences in both standard and complementary therapies that affect a person’s health in mind, body, and spirit.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/BCOMintegrativemedicine/

President: Joel Ross joel.ross@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kurz akurz@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Scott Wallace scott.wallace@mybcom.org

Secretary: Kirk Thorpe kirk.thorpe@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Edward Telmo edward.telmo@mybcom.org

To unite and empower medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latino community.

President: Jesus Guzman jesus.guzman@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Longwell

Officer: Andrew Ortega andrew.ortega@mybcom.org

Officer: Roberto Valentino roberto.valentino@mybcom.org

Officer: Brenda Pelayo brenda.pelayo@mybcom.org

Officer: Lauren Munoz Tremblay lauren.munoztremblay@mybcom.org

Officer: Monique Davis monique.davis@mybcom.org

Contact: Matthew Bell matthew.bell@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Ketchum rketchum@bcomnm.org

The LGBTQIA Alliance is dedicated to humanist education, LGBTQIA cultural competency, and community outreach.

President: Virginia Stoddard-Merriam virginia.stoddard@mybcom.org

Advisor: Erin Palazollo epalazzolo@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Ashlee Amparan ashlee.amparan@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Amy Ngo amy.ngo@mybcom.org

Secretary: Tyler Christensen tyler.christensen@mybcom.org

Community Outreach: Katie Kleinberg katie.kleinberg@mybcom.org

The purpose of the Military Medicine Club is to prepare the military students of BCOM for successful medical careers and service in the military.

Contact: Jorey Cunico jorey.cunico@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Hayes ohayes@bcomnm.org

The OBGYN club at BCOM focuses on promoting interest in the practice of Obstetrics and Gynecology within the school and is dedicated to local outreach efforts for women’s health needs in the community.

President: Sara Javadi sara.javadi@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Levatino alevatino@bcomnm.org

President: Michael Arias michael.arias@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Minugh-Purvis nminugh@bcomnm.org

Psych Cinema is an organization that strives to empower and educate medical students on the opportunities of the psychiatric specialty and the applicability of its principles in all medical practices. Furthermore, we strive for inter-professional collaboration to work towards a culture of destigmatizing mental illness.

President: Monika Jankowicz monika.jankowicz@mybcom.org

Advisor: Gary Cohen gcohen@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Samantha Baxter samantha.baxter@mybcom.org

NAMI Coordinator: Wesley Goodrich wesley.goodrich@mybcom.org

Provide mentorship and tutoring for local elementary students;
Aid in improving the medical student experience by providing community service opportunities;
Provide basic age appropriate health education for the elementary students;
Build relationships between BCOM and the community.

President: Michelle Tierney michelle.tierney@mybcomm.org

Advisor: Christa Vaudry cvaudry@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Muhammad Makkieh muhammad.makkieh@mybcomm.org

Extracurricular Coordinator: Giselle Irio giselle.irio@mybcomm.org

SAOAO has been formed as a bridge between Osteopathic Medicine and Orthopedic Surgery, in order to create a holistic functioning system to provide all the members with the opportunity to change the future of Osteopathic Orthopedic medicine by being well educated and experienced health care practitioners.

President: Gregory Wallis gregory.wallis@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Martin smartin@bcomnm.org

The Student American Academy of Osteopathy (SAAO) has been organized by students of the accredited American osteopathic medical colleges under the auspices and guidance of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) for the purposes of helping osteopathic medical students:

1. Acquire a better understanding of osteopathic principles, theories and practice to include:

  • Helping students attain a maximum proficiency in osteopathic structural diagnosis and treatment.
  • Fostering a clear concept of clinical application of osteopathy in health and disease.

2. Improve public awareness of osteopathic medicine so the community may better take advantage of the benefits provided by osteopathic medicine.

http://www.academyofosteopathy.org/students-landing

President: Wesley Goodrich wesley.goodrich@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Kania akania@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Brigitte Grewe brigitte.grewe@mybcom.org

National Representative: Alexzandra Blanchard alexzandra.blanchard@mybcom.org

The BCOM Student Government Association (SGA) is the official voice for osteopathic medical students at BCOM. BCOM SGA is responsible for dispersing funds for student activities, acting as a liaison for the DO medical student body, promoting osteopathic medicine, supporting club and classroom activities, and working to improve the quality of life for all BCOM medical students.

President: Brian Liu brian.liu@mybcom.org

Advisor: Brett Newcomer, Director of Student Affairs bnewcomer@bcomnm.org

The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association’s (SOIMA) goals are to promote interest among osteopathic medical students in the practice of Internal Medicine and its subspecialties. We aim to educate and inform on the path towards becoming a Doctor of Internal Medicine and or subspecialties while allowing members to practice and learn applicable skills for future practice.

It is the purpose of the Student Osteopathic Internal Medicine Association (SOIMA) to represent aspiring osteopathic internists. This is accomplished through the following activities: 1) Providing osteopathic medical students with an early exposure to the field of internal medicine; 2) Stressing the understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties; 3) Affiliation with the American College of Osteopathic Internists as well as the American College of Physicians to establish and maintain the highest educational, moral and ethical standards in the teaching and practice of internal medicine. 4) Serving as a liaison with the AOA, the ACP, and the ACOI for the provision of information on training and career opportunities in internal medicine to osteopathic students. 5) Keeping members informed of the latest developments in the field of internal medicine.

President: Jessalyn Lance jessalyn.lance@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Assi massi@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Sidra Shah sidra.shah@mybcom.org

Secretary: Kirk Thorpe kirk.thorpe@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Mario Soliman mario.soliman@mybcom.org

Director of Community Outreach: Oussama Abbad oussama.abbad@mybcom.org

Director of Research: Matthew Baska matthew.baska@mybcom.org

SOMA strives to provide its members with an independent, cohesive voice and the power to effect

relevant change. BCOM SOMA is particularly concerned with supporting its student’s development as osteopathic physicians, and implementing policy that will improve healthcare in New Mexico.

www.studentdo.org

President: Megan McCord megan.mcord@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Howell showell@bcomnm.org

BCOM SOSA’s purpose is to represent and educate the future osteopathic surgeon. SOSA stresses understanding of osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of surgery and provides a forum for discussion among students and surgeons.

President: Carli Ogle carli.ogle@mybcom.org

Advisor: Dr. Lente alente@bcomnm.org

Vice President: Nancy Phu nancy.phu@mybcom.org

Secretary: Samantha Orona samantha.orona@mybcom.org

Treasurer: Dylan Gallegos dylan.gallegos@mybcom.org

Community Outreach Coordinator: Larin McMartin larin.mcmartin@mybcom.org

National Liaison: Megan Sofka megan.sofka@mybcom.org

Special Programs

TOUCH Program